I hate it when things go pear-shaped

Owls after the mistake

Unless you watched the podcast sometime today, this might not look familiar… and even if you did, you might not be able to see what went wrong.

I was on a webinar tonight at work and was knitting happily on the body of my Owls sweater and was getting to the last set of decreases when I realized the math wasn’t going to work. Ummmm… I re-read the pattern and realized that I had only been doing two decreases on the back instead of four. Damn. I tried dropping down and seeing what would happen, but that didn’t work, obviously. The stitches were way too loose in that area.

I decided that the best thing to do would be to rip back, so I spent the last half hour of the webinar ripping back and getting the stitches back on the huge US10.5 needles. It’s back on the needles and happy again – with the correct number of decreases in the one decrease row so far. That’s what I get about being cocky about knitting a sweater in a bulky weight yarn. I am confident, however, that I’ll be at least on the sleeve by the next time I record. (Setting expectations low, heh.)

About recording, I still haven’t decided when I’m going to record next week. I’m headed up to PA in the second half of the week to spend some time with a friend and see a concert. Wednesday will probably work best, but if I’m too busy running around getting things done, I might try to record up there. If not, I’ll record on Sunday when I get home. Either way, I’ll tweet and plurk about it before I record.

Okay, procrastination time over. Must get back to work and knit up what I ripped out. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “I hate it when things go pear-shaped

  1. I love Plucky Yarn! It’s one of my favorites. I only wish that I had more time to knit with the ton of it that I’m always ordering from the updates. (I have some bulky on the way. I’ve never used this base before.)

    Enjoy your trip. I’m looking forward to your next episode. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Episode 2: Awww, Thanks! | Sheepish

Leave a Reply

