Episode 21: Stash Enhancement, FTW!

Hey everyone! It’s been a while, as usual! I hope y’all have been doing well and have gotten lots of knitting, spinning, and all other crafty endeavors done – because I certainly haven’t… though there is an addition to the Alumni Roster this week. 🙂

I talk about a few things before getting into the Crafty Stuff – if you’re not following the blog in a aggregator, you may be missing out on posts as I start to use the blog as a blog as well as a place for show notes. (Don’t worry, the blog will always have to do with the ‘cast, I promise!) I’m hoping to put reviews on here, rather than take time in the recording, which will hopefully keep the time down. Also, don’t forget – you’ve still got until midnight on the 31st to enter your finished socks in the August “Socks, Socks, Socks!” thread for a prize!

Current Roster 

  • Bondi Socks by me. I finally cast the second sock on and promptly remembered why I don’t knit socks on DPNs all that often. I grabbed my Chiagoo Red Lace circs in a US1.5 (2.5mm) and went to town. One thing I remembered about 2″ in? I knit looser on the Karbons, which is what I had started in and knit over half of the first sock in. So, this sock might be a little snugger than the first for Mom… she’ll love them anyway, right? I’ve made the decision to rip back the toe on the first sock and knit the foot longer, but I can’t stomach that right about now, lol.

Alumni Roster 

  • Brickless by Martina Behm. I finished this in 15 days. 15 days. That is almost unheard of, in my world. I could have gotten this done in fewer days if I had just pulled it out and worked on it more. This really was potato chip knitting for me. I really didn’t want to put it down once I picked it up – and it was so easy to remember. I finished this on Monday, just in time to squeak in under the deadline for the  Knitabulls’ Brickless KAL with Sadie of Yarnivore. I knit this out of a skein of Storied Yarns’ Superwash Sock (75% SW Merino/25% Nylon) in the Condescending Wonka colorway. I love how this came out. I was left with a tiny ball of leftover yarn – maybe it will be enough to knit a square? Yes, I still need to block this, but I’m still calling it finished.

Stick Handling 

I finished the braid of fiber from Fibernymph Dye Works – and it is lovely once spun up. It’s a little itchy, but I’m hoping that will soften up with a good soak and thwack.

Scouting Report: Patterns 

I swatched for three of four projects (yes, one of the swatches did double duty and worked for two sweaters) and posted a poll in the Rav group on which I should make next… because Maine is a little chilly in October. I think I’ve decided to cast on Narragansett by Thea Coleman of Baby Cocktails, as it’s a worsted weight sweater and should knit up quickly.

Scouting Report: Stash Enhancement 

Yeah, retail therapy happened. I hate it when I fill a cart and Paypal just kicks in like that. Oops.

What’s Making Me Happy 

There are so many things – too many to list! One big thing? Just over one month until the NHL Regular Season start. (You know, in case you’ve forgotten about my hockey love.) Our first game is on October 1, against the current Stanley Cup Champions in Chicago. Yeah, we’re going to lose that one, but honestly, I won’t care because hockey will be back! (I’ll care for our first home game against the Flames on the 3rd, though.)

Have a great week, everyone! I’ll see you soon!

xo,
Holly

Leave a Reply

