Episode 22: A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week… Mine has been busy, of course – fitting five days of work into four is definitely not easy. Hopefully you all had a great Labor Day (if you’re in the States to celebrate), mine was a fiber-y Labor Day, accompanied with lots of Pride & Prejudice (the BBC version, of course).

We’ve got a bit to cover this week – including a prize drawing! Hooray! The winner of the August “Socks, Socks, Socks!” thread is… yeah, you know I’m not going to spoil it here. 😉 If you are the winner, please PM me on Ravelry with your favorite colors in sock yarn and your address so I can get that out to you ASAP!

Current Roster 

  • Bondi Socks by meI made some progress on the second sock this week, knitting down the leg and half of the heel flap two weekends ago and finally getting around to finishing the heel flap while getting Fawkes (my car) an oil change. I turned the heel while helping a friend troubleshoot the heel turn in the pattern and am now just working through all the gusset decreases. So, I’m in the most boring part of the sock. Ah, well. I’ll have Mom try it on as I knit, so I can actually knit it to the correct length. Novel idea, right?
  • Narragansett by Thea Colman. I cast this on late on the Friday of the week the podcast went up. (Like around midnight on that Friday night. I’d been dealing with video issues because of my iTunes feed – it didn’t upload correctly. Oy.) This has been working up so quickly – and has been the only thing that I’ve really wanted to work on.  Of course, it’s now too big to carry around, so I can only work on it at home. I am using some of the yarn from the Magnolia Society yarn club: madeline tosh 80/10/10 Worsted in the Well Water colorway. (I totally forgot to say that on the ‘cast!) LOVE this yarn. I have been alternating skeins throughout, like a good little knitter, so there is that, but it looks so awesome.

Stick Handling 

  • I finished the braid of Polwarth from Knitters Nightmare in the Berlin colorway! Hooray! The colors are phenomenal. I navajo plied the yarn and my navajo plying needs work, but it’s still gorgeous. Sadie dyes some phenomenal colorways – I tend to say that about most of the indie dyers I buy from, don’t I? Well, it’s because it’s true.
  • So, since one braid of yarn was done, I had to put some more fiber on the wheel… I decided to order another 2 oz of the Fibery Tribbles from Gourmet Stash (along with some punis… no judgement!) and with the 4 oz I previously purchased, I am going to do a true 3 ply – I’ve never done that, before! Which means I’m going to join in with the Yarnraising New-To-You Spinalong. I’ve also never worked with alpaca, so I’ve got two entries right there! 🙂 It goes until October 31, so if you want to join in come on!

Scouting Report: Stash 

  • Well, the Fibery Tribbles and punis from Gourmet Stash
  • My sweater’s worth of madeline tosh Dandelion (90% superwash merino, 10% fine linen) in Duchess. Love the feel of the yarn – it’s a fingering weight in a purple-y colorway.
  • A skein of Goonies self-striping sock yarn from Highland Handmades
  • Two Bullseye Bumps from Loop. Awesome!!!

What’s Making Me Happy 

  • HIGHLANDS ON THE FLY IS A LITTLE OVER A MONTH AWAY! Yes, I might be a little excited. And I might need to get cracking on that sweater.
  • Teefury.com – I love their t-shirts: uber-geeky and really pop-culture relevant! Just be prepared to wait for them.
  • Hockey is starting up again! On Monday, the rookies from the Caps and Flyers played… and I was damn happy to watch. LOVE. Our first pre-season game is Saturday night. I already have plans with beer, knitting (because spinning would probably be a bad idea), and internet.
  • Yes, I got my hair cut. I’m still getting used to it. The salon I went to was way too cool for me, but I loved the stylist, so I will brave the uber-hip hipsters and keep going. Now if I could figure out what to do with it on my own…

Have a great week! I will be recording next week, so I’ll see you all then!

xo,
Holly

Leave a comment